district header logo
491 Bond Rd.   |   Minford, Ohio 45653   |   740-820-3002
Minford Logo
Map And Directions

SOC History

The Southern Ohio Conference (SOC) was formed in 1946.  The original member schools were Central Catholic (Notre  Dame), Glenwood (New Boston), Portsmouth East (Sciotoville Community), Washington Township (West), and Waverly. 

Minford High School joined the league in 1947 for BASKETBALL only.

In 1948:
Chesapeake joined league for TRACK only
South Point joined for BASEBALL and TRACK only
Minford began play in BASEBALL.

In 1950:
Wheelersburg joined the league.
Dawson-Bryant joined the league.

In 1951 South Point withdrew from the league.

Coal Grove withdrew from the league in 1952.

Central Catholic HS became Notre Dame High School in 1952.

Chesapeake withdrew from the league in 1954.

Piketon entered the conference in 1959 and then left in 1962.

Minford withdrew from the league in 1958 only to rejoin the league the next year.

Lucasville Valley joined the conference in 1958.

In 1960 McDermott Northwest entered league play.

Waverly withdrew after the 1969 - 1970 season.

In 1979:
Clay joined the league.
Green joined the league
South Webster joined the league.
The SOC divided into two divisions.

Eastern (Pike) entered the conference in 1981.

Ironton St. Joe joined the league in 1982, withdrew in 1989, & rejoined in 2019.

In 1983 Waverly re-entered conference play.

In 1991:
Oak Hill joined the league, began play in the 1992 - 1993 season.
Symmes Valley joined the league, began play in the 1992 - 1993 season.

Western (Pike) left the Southern Hills League and joined the SOC in 2002.

Portsmouth East becomes Sciotoville Community School (East Jr. - Sr. High School) in 2002.

  • SOC Division I:  Clay, East (Sciotoville), Eastern (DI until 2019; football DI), Glenwood, Green, Notre Dame, Symmes Valley, & Western
  • SOC Division II: Minford, Northwest (DI football), Oak Hill (DI football until 2019), Portsmouth West, South Webster (DI soccer until 2019 & golf), Valley (DI soccer), Waverly, & Wheelersburg


 Members of the SOC

 Chesapeake1948 - 1954 
 Clay1979 to present
 Dawson Bryant1950 - 1952
 Eastern Pike1981 - present 
 Glenwood1946 - present
 Green1979 - present
 Ironton St. Joe1982 - 1989 & 2018 to present
 Minford1947 - 1958 & 1959 to present
 Northwest1960 - present
 Notre Dame1946 - present
 Piketon1959 - 1962
 Portsmouth East1946 - present 
 Oak Hill1991 - present 
 South Point1948 - 1951 
 South Webster1979 - present 
 Symmes Valley1991 - present
 Valley1958 - present 
 Waverly1946 - 1970 & 1983 to present 
 West1946 - present
 Western Pike1946 - 1970 & 1983 to present
 Wheelersburg1950 - present 

Minford Logo
Minford Local Schools
491 Bond Rd.   |   Minford, Ohio 45653   |   740-820-3002
© 2024. Minford Local Schools. Education Software created by eSchoolView
Home of the Mighty Minford Falcons!